Login / Sign Up
[[ Auth.sessionData.displayName ]]
VIP Since [[ Auth.sessionData.ctJoined | date:'shortDate' ]]
Logout

Try Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition for Free on Xbox One and PC

Posted: Jul 18 2019

Before you embark on a planet-hopping adventure in Borderlands 3, how about you take another mayhem-filled tour of Pandora and see where the shooter-looter genre was born? Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition is the best way to experience the series’ start—and you can try it for free this weekend* on PC (via Steam) and Xbox One (exclusively for Xbox Live Gold and Xbox Game Pass Ultimate members).

Today through Sunday, July 21 (exact times listed below), you can jump into Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition on your PC or Xbox One to wreak havoc as the four original Vault Hunters. Lilith the Siren, Mordecai the Hunter, Roland the Soldier, and Brick the Berserker explore the desert wastelands of Pandora in search of a legendary Vault Key, killing hundreds of crazed bandits and collecting some killer loot along the way. Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition includes remastered Ultra HD visuals as well as new features like local co-op for up to four players and even a handy minimap, so it’s well worth revisiting even if you played Borderlands back in the day.

Free Play Available Until:
Xbox One: July 21 – 11:59 PM PDT, July 22 – 2:59AM EDT / 7:59 AM BST / 2:59 PM GMT+8 / 4:59PM AEST
Steam: July 21 – 1:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM EDT / 9:00 PM BST, July 22 – 4:00AM GMT+8 / 6:00 AM AEST

Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition includes all four of the DLC add-ons, so in addition to the main campaign you can play through The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned, Mad Moxxi’s Underdome Riot, The Secret Armory of General Knoxx, and Claptrap’s New Robot Revolution. If you run out of free shooting-and-looting time and would like to keep playing, Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition will be on sale for 50% off until July 22 on Steam / July 29 on Xbox One**. All your progress will carry over, so you can pick up where you left off in the story and continue perfecting your favorite Vault Hunter’s build and weapon loadout.

Now’s a great time to revisit Borderlands’ beginnings ahead of Borderlands 3, so get out there and enjoy Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition for free this weekend.

*PC offer available until 1:00 PM PDT, July 21, 2019. Xbox offer available until 11:59 PM PDT, July 21, 2019. Xbox offer only available to Xbox Live Gold and Xbox Game Pass Ultimate members.
**Valid on digital purchases at select retailers. Offer available while supplies last. No rainchecks will be provided. Offer is void where prohibited. Availability varies by region; check your local retailers for details.

Become a Borderlands VIP

Sign up and start earning rewards!

Join the Vault Insider Program and unlock loot for existing Borderlands games as well as the upcoming Borderlands 3.

Learn More Login / Sign Up

Featured

Get News and Updates

Sign up to receive news, promotional messages, and Borderlands info from 2K and its affiliates.

Follow Borderlands on social media!
Subscribe
[[link.title]] |
© 2019 Gearbox. Published and distributed by 2K. Gearbox and Borderlands, and the Gearbox Software and Borderlands logos, are registered trademarks, all used courtesy of Gearbox Software, LLC. 2K and the 2K logo are trademarks of Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc. All rights reserved. The “PS” Family logo and “PS4” are registered trademarks of Sony Interactive Entertainment Inc. Stadia, the S logo, and related marks and logos are trademarks of Google LLC. Borderlands 3 will be available on Google Stadia November 2019. ©2019 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. AMD, the AMD Arrow logo, Radeon, Ryzen and combinations thereof are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Epic Games and the Epic Games Store logo are trademarks or registered trademarks of Epic Games, Inc. in the USA and elsewhere. All rights reserved.

If you are looking for Borderland Sciences Research Foundation, click here.

This Browser is Unsupported

Please use a more modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Microsoft Edge.